What Was Your First Adult Diaper?

It’s a special event in the life of any ABDL and one which many remember vividly. What was the very first adult diaper that you wore? On this episode of our podcast Toddy tells stories about his first experiences with adult diapers and recalls the vintage Attends of the 1980’s.

My First Adult Diaper

This image shows a grown man in an adult size diaper on New Years Eve in 1955.

What was your first adult diaper, and did it fit better than this man’s?

My first time realizing that there were such as thing as adult diapers was while looking through an old Sears catalog when I was about 11 or 12 years old. I cannot express the excitement I felt upon learning that there were real diapers that would fit me! I wouldn’t have to modify baby diapers any more. If I could get some of these delightful looking diapers, that is.

Attends Adult Diapers

I never did get to try those diapers from the catalog – which, if memory serves, were single tape per side! But a few years later – just as I was preparing myself for a driver’s license – I discovered Attends briefs and belted undergarments. Yes! more adult diapers. And they were available at the local Thrifty’s drug store.

No longer would I have to tape, staple, and sew two baby diapers together in order to wear a make-shift diaper. Now I could wear diapers that fit me like a diaper is supposed to fit. But what was my reaction to these adult diapers? Listen to the show and hear the full story.

What was your first Adult Diaper, and what do you remember most about them? Let us know in the comments below.

ABDL Entertainment

Also on this episode of the ABDLcast we discuss the result of a couple listener polls, finish our trip through Storyland, read a bunch of great listener feedback, share some news from the world of ABDL designer diapers, and a whole lot more.

Click on the player below or use the links for other ways to get the ABDLcast. And don’t forget to follow @ABDLcast on Twitter and leave us a voice message on our SpeakPipe page ;)

Here’s an easy way to find what you want to hear on this episode:

DOWNLOAD || iTUNES || TuneIn RADIO || MIXLR || RSS FEED

6 thoughts on “What Was Your First Adult Diaper?

  1. Diapered Writer says:

    Hey Toddy Smurf. Another excellent episode.

    If I may, I’d like to address your confusion as to why DLs like your show. I’m one of the many many in our community who identify as strictly a DL, without a hint of AB. Of course I can’t speak for every DL out there, but I’ve been in the community long enough to see nuances. I will apologize in advance if I seem to be pigeonholing everyone in the community. I know these are generalizations, and people can be comfortable anywhere along the sliding scale.

    As I see it, the biggest difference between DLs and ABs (and your third category of “Big Kids” would be the answer to one single question:

    “What is it that gives you pleasure?”

    For an AB, the pleasure comes from being taken care of. The Mommy / Daddy aspect. The bottle, paci, or stuffie. DIapers are part of that whole experience.

    For a Big Kid such as yourself, you not only like diapers, but also cartoons and other things that put you in a “Little Space”

    For DLs, the diapers themselves give us pleasure. We like wearing them just because we like how they feel. We like to wet them, we like to change them. A good majority of DLs like their diapers plain white, because of nostalgia or memories. We like looking at grown men and women in diapers and regular adult clothing because it’s the diapers that give us the feels, not the crib or playpen.

    Also among DLs, there is a strong sexual component. I’ll keep this PG-13, but it bears mention. For a lot of DLs, diapers are a fetish. There is a definite sexual attraction to wearing them, or seeing someone else in them. DLs are the reason for photo pay-sites and ABDL phone sex operators. A great many of us . . . um . . .let’s just say “spend alone time” while wearing them. As a teenager, I personally had my first conscious O while in Pampers.

    As I said before, this isn’t true for everyone, but it’s a good basic understanding. ABs like the baby aspect, DLs like the diapers. And anyone can be a combination somewhere between the extremes.

    So that begs the question, why would DLs listen to your show? Because you talk about diapers, the object of our desire. That doesn’t mean we’re getting sexual thrills from your show. But you share your experiences with wearing diapers – experiences which we share. You talk of hiding and stealing diapers, which we have all done and can relate to. You talk about wearing the different brands, which we all currently do (and have opinions on). You talk of explaining your diapers to others, which we all have encountered at one time or another. Yes, I personally, don’t care for the Bugs Bunny clips or the talk of AB artwork, but I’ll happily sit through it just to get to the next diaper story. It’s exactly like you say in your opener. We’re adults who just like diapers. And you’re the only podcast out there who gets that. I’m so sick of the other ABDL podcasts that focus way too much on Little content or have no strictly DLs on the panel.

    I know you have said you don’t explore the sexual side of the ABDL fetish, but for many, many of us DLs that’s at the heart of it.

  2. You touched on the fact that diapers can actually help some people with emotional or mental struggles they face from time to time. I feel like this is important for so many diaper lovers to realize and just embrace.

    We’re not alone and we need to love ourselves–even if that means that putting on a diaper at the end of a rough day is what we need to let “…the whole world melt away…” like you said.

    I share your podcast often on Littlespace Online because of these types of things you say. It’s SO important to get the message out there that we’re not freaks and we’re not alone! Being ABDL is okay! Embrace it, love yourself, and don’t be so afraid to indulge a little.

    Anyway, I just wanted to say–thank you! Thank you, thank you, thank you. I love your podcast.

    • Hi Littlespace Online :)

      Thank you very much for the encouraging words. It is important to discuss these things. And we’re going to attempt to do it in a way that is helpful and healing, yet still fun (as fun as discussing metal health can be). Wish us luck!

  3. Rachel Emily says:

    Hi Toddy,

    In the 1970s, I remember a brand called “Kimbies” which didn’t last very long. If memory serves, it was the forerunner to Huggies that you were asking about.

Leave a Reply

